Mung Bean Burgers with Kiwi Lime Salsa

We made these on our happy stay-at-home day yesterday for dinner. I was worried when I saw how wet the mixture was. Letting it sit in the fridge was a great way to stiffen it up a bit. Also, make sure the oil is nice and hot before you put these in the pan. That seems to help them keep their shape. My husband ate his on bread, I just ate mine with a fork. The kids at theirs with their fingers. The salsa is simple but excellent. The baby liked the salsa, my daughter wouldn’t even try it.

Gluten-Free Mung Bean Burgers with Kiwi Lime Salsa

Reprinted from Living Without Magazine, December/January 2011 issue. http://www.livingwithout.com

Makes 8 burgers

Burgers

1 cup dried mung beans
1 cup gluten-free rolled oats
1 cup mushrooms, diced
½ medium onion, coarsely chopped
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1 tablespoon cumin
¼–½ teaspoon cayenne
– Juice of ½ lemon
– Salt and ground black pepper, to taste
⅓ cup sunflower seeds, optional

Salsa

3 kiwi, diced (I used 4)
1 jalapeño, diced and seeded (I used about 1/3 of a large pepper)
– Juice of 1 lime
⅓ cup fresh cilantro, chopped

1. Soak mung beans for several hours. Bring beans to boil in 3 cups fresh water. Cover and simmer over low heat until beans soften, about 30 minutes.

2. Place beans in a food processor, along with oats, mushrooms, onion, garlic, cumin, cayenne, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Process until smooth but still grainy. Mix in sunflower seeds and process until seeds are incorporated into the bean mixture. Form into equal-size patties. If the bean mixture is too moist to form into patties, place it in the refrigerator for about 1 hour to solidify a bit.

3. Heat oil in a skillet and cook burgers over medium-high heat for about 3 to 4 minutes per side. (I used coconut oil)

4. To make salsa, combine all ingredients in a bowl. Serve over mung bean burgers.

4 Replies to “Mung Bean Burgers with Kiwi Lime Salsa”

  1. My husband is allergic to mushrooms, any suggestions for a substitution? I think we would both really like this, if I put all the mushrooms in 4 of the burgers for me and replaced it in his 4 with something else 🙂

    Like

    1. Huh. I’m not sure about a mushroom substitute. I’ll have to mull that one over. Maybe some cooked short-grain rice? Marshmallows? (Just kidding on the marshmallows…just trying to think of what might have a texture similar to mushrooms.) Or you could try the nut burger recipe we love. It’s on cookusinterruptus (http://www.cookusinterruptus.com/index.php?video_id=128). I mentioned them in a blog some months ago, but maybe it would be good to devote an entire blog post to them.

      Like

      1. Looking back at the recipe again, you could just put another veggie in there, like grated carrots. Because it all gets processed together, the texture isn’t, I think, a big issue. And I don’t think the mushrooms would serve as a binding agent or anything, so you should have a fair amount of freedom to just sub what you like.

        Like

Your turn! What's on your mind?