More About Smoothies

Green Smoothie
Modified “Morning Zing” Smoothie

I’ve been playing around with the Morning Zing Green Smoothie recipe from rawfamily.com. [edit: that site no longer has that recipe. You can click here for the recipe on rawsmoothierecipes.com] Of the recipes on their page, I’ve tried only that one because it’s the one for which I have most of the ingredients lying around most of the time.

The other day, I put what I had into the blender (1/2 bunch dandelion greens, 2 peaches, a can of pineapple, a couple shakes of ground dried ginger), added 4 ice cubes, and whirred it up. It made about 4 cups of thick, somewhat bitter smoothie. After about 1 cup of it, the flavor kind of grew on me. I drank a pint in the morning and a pint in the afternoon. The baby loved it. He’d take a sip and then smile and clap his hands. My daughter wouldn’t even get near it.

I’m pleased that I drank such an extremely green smoothie, but I think I’ll keep my greens/bananas/berries smoothie as my staple and use the Morning Zing just on special occasions. I think it would be perfect for St Patrick’s Day.

Your turn! What's on your mind?